MOSCOW, March 20 (RAPSI) – The Russian Foreign Ministry has released a list of sanctions targeting top US officials and lawmakers, as US President Barrack Obama announced that Washington is imposing additional sanctions against Russians in connection with handling of the Ukraine crisis.

The MFA statement, published Thursday on its website, says that the list is a reaction to sanctions imposed against Russian officials and lawmakers on March 17. There are 9 names on the Russian list, White House advisers Daniel Pfeiffer and Ben Rhodes, Senator John McCain, and Speaker of the House of Representatives John Boehner among them.

Obama announced an expansion Thursday of US sanctions against Russia.

The Treasury Department then released a new list of high-ranking Russian officials that will be subject to US sanctions. Among many others, the list includes: Russian businessmen Arkady and Boris Rotenberg; Andrei Fursenko, presidential aide; Sergei Ivanov, Chief of Staff of the Presidential Executive Office; Sergei Mironov, Duma lawmaker and leader of A Just Russia party; Sergey Naryshkin, Speaker of the Russian State Duma; and businessman Gennady Timchenko.