MOSCOW, March 6 (RAPSI) - The European Union (EU) is imposing economic sanctions against Viktor Yanukovich and 17 other Ukrainian officials and businessmen.
The document is a supplement to the Council Decision for economic sanctions.

The list includes Viktor Yanukovich and his sons Alexander and Viktor, former head of the Interior Ministry Vitaly Zakharchenko, former prosecutor general Viktor Pshonka and his son Artyom, former head of Security Service Aleksandr Yakimenko, former Prime Minister Nikolai Azarov and his son Alexei, former head of the presidential administration Andrei Kluev and his brother Sergei, former First Deputy Head of the Presidential Administration Andrei Portnov, former Justice Minister Olena Lukash, former Deputy Interior Minister Viktor Ratushnyak, businessman Sergei Kurchenko, former Education Minister Dmitry Tabachnik, former Health Minister Raisa Bogatyryova and former presidential advisor Igor Kalinin.

According to the document, all assets and economic resources of these people must be frozen.

On February 22, the Verkhovna Rada impeached Viktor Yanukovich and amended the constitution. The presidential powers were assigned to the parliament speaker Alexander Turchinov. The parliament scheduled presidential election for May 25.

At a news conference in the Russian southern city of Rostov-on-Don, Yanukovich said that he was forced to leave Ukraine under a threat to his life but he remains the legitimate president of the country.

Russia has filed an inquiry with the Venice Commission seeking answers on the legitimacy of decisions made by the Ukrainian Verkhovna Rada.