MOSCOW, June 27 (RAPSI) — Russian authorities have banned 43 more high-ranking Canadian citizens from entering the country, according to an official statement from the Russian Foreign Ministry.

This action was taken in response to the sanctions imposed by Canada in May against the management of Russian companies and their families.

The measure is to affect federal and regional officials, functionaries of the ruling Liberal Party and public figures. Following the publication of this list, the respective persons are to be included in the general list of Canadians under sanctions, which is posted on the website of the Russian Foreign Ministry.

Among other Canadian citizens, the "stop list" includes the chairman of the Liberal Party of Canada Suzanne Cowan, former chairman of the Bank of Canada Mark Carney, Deputy Minister of Natural Resources of Canada John Hannaford, Deputy Chief of Staff of the Prime Minister of Canada Marjorie Michel.

In mid-April, the Russian Foreign Ministry announced that restrictions were to be introduced in regard of 87 Canadian senators in response to the blacklisting of the entire composition of the Federation Council of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation. 

In early June, 41 more Canadian citizens, including Vice Chief of the Canadian Defense Staff Frances Allen, several Canadian Deputy Ministers of Defense for various issues, publicist William Watson, representatives of public organizations Ukrainian Canadian Congress and Ukrainian World Congress, as well as the Ukrainian Credit Union, were added to the list.